The Service Industry is a Great Career for Those Who Love Meeting New People!

I was reminded of this yesterday

Dani Gibbings McGaw
4 min readJun 6, 2022
Image source: Pixabay

I’ve always wanted to travel. I’d jump at the chance to take a road trip across the country by myself. It’s a dream for the future, but I don’t have the money or freedom to do that — yet.

But yesterday, I was working my shift at a restaurant, and I was reminded yet again, why I love the job so much.

Each shift opens up to the possibility of meeting someone new and having an interesting conversation.

Of course, I can’t do that when it is busy but there’s lots of slower times when I get to pay more attention to my tables. Sometimes that makes for some fun or interesting conversations. Other times, I just make quick connections with people but those connections stay in my mind.

Yesterday, I served a group of four ladies. I didn’t feel like there was anything special about it. I was just doing my job. A joke here, a compliment there. I made sure they had everything they needed and tried to be available without being intrusive because they were obviously friends that were there to enjoy each others’ company.

But, as I was taking care of their bills, they started a conversation with me. They complimented me on my service, saying they loved…

--

--